I Do Windows

Group Projects: Pop Culture

Posted in Class Group Projects, Discuss This Display by Arcadia on June 18, 2012

One of my students recently told me I didn’t show the last of the group projects.  I didn’t forget.  I’ve just been super busy.  I really don’t understand how some people find the time to blog all day and hold down a full-time job, and try to have some semblance of a personal life.  How do they do it :)?

So here you go, sorry for the delay, I’ve been out-of-town a lot and working at my construction program.  We are running a summer session for the first time and since I manage the entire program, I had to start as soon as the spring semester ended with no break.

Group 1: Yayoi Kusama (cubes)

This is truly museum quality work, and the use of the balloon was clever!

Group 2: Breast Cancer Awareness (window)

Very shocking in a good way.  It really grabbed your attention when you went by.  The work could have been neater, but I loved the concept.

Group 3: ComicCon (table) display

This was such a fun table.  Group 3 really saved their best for last (ignore the wall display in the background, they were trying to re-do the wall display they didn’t finish the first time around).  Who said girls don’t like comic books!

Group 4: Vogue (shelf unit)

Not sure where I see this displays, a fancy news stand perhaps?  Nicely done, needed better signage, and someone mentioned more colors.  A beautiful bouquet of flowers would be a good way to introduce more color.

Group 5: OPI nail polish (other cubes)

Great work!

Group 6: Hello Kitty apple cart (wall)

Beautiful apple trees, but the overall display looks unfinished.  I wish it took up the whole wall, at least the whole width, and the wheels on the “cart” has the spokes.

 

The last of the class projects!  It has been a truly wonderful semester, I get so much joy out of teaching this class and doing displays, I really can’t think of anything else I’d rather be doing than designing and building!

My new class in the fall: FASH 54A-Beginning Fashion Styling

 

Leave a Reply

