I Do Windows

Visual Merchandising by Tony Morgan (2nd Edition)

Posted in Book Reviews by Arcadia on April 12, 2012

The textbook I use for this class is Visual Merchandising – Window and in-store displays for retail by Tony Morgan.  I really like this book as it doesn’t read like the traditional textbook with too much technical jargon.  It’s very informative and would make a great addition to the display person’s library whether they are a student or not.

I am happy to report the book has been updated and the second edition is out.  Thank you very much to Laurence King Publishing for sending me a copy (one of the few perks of being a professor!).

This book will now become required reading in my class, before it was only on the suggested reading list, but I reference it so much and my students are in line to borrow my class copy, I’ve decided to make it mandatory.  The cost is $40 (if you’re wondering) or about $26.00 on Amazon.

Tony teaches visual merchandising at the London College of Fashion and is the head of the visual merchandising department at the Fashion Retail Academy in London.  Wow – a whole school devoted just to fashion retail!! I think that’s fantastic and wished one existed on this side of the Atlantic.  Most of our fashion schools are devoted to design with a few classes in merchandising and marketing.

Happy Reading!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. USHI SATO said, on April 17, 2012 at 4:54 am

    I admire your blog so much and it gives me a lot of information on this field. I’m a fashion designer, fashion consultant and a stylist but then I recently got a job as a Head Division Visual Merchandiser in one company here in Dubai. I honestly didn’t had any idea on visual merchandising, I know how to do displays and etc but the rules and further relations on the field….I’m clueless. Reading your blog is a wonderful thing, coz I’ve learned a lot and also discover references that can help me more on this new field. I’m currently handling two accounts in the company (Ninewest and Anne Klein). More powers!

  2. Arcadia said, on April 18, 2012 at 11:40 am

    I’m really happy to hear you are finding the information here helpful, as that is my intent. Congratulations on your recent job – Nine West and Anne Klein are two great brands! Please continue to keep in touch and let me know if there is any information you would like to see on the blog.

    Kindly,
    Arcadia

    • Ushi Sato said, on April 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      I’d like to ask you opinion in a certain case; if a store is having problems with the items (i mean totally rubbish) and no matter how you produced good visual but still the whole look isn’t really working. Do you believe VM’s has an issue on this case or the product itself?Thanks

  3. Arcadia said, on April 18, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Just like “the customer is always right” – ” the product is never wrong”. The main priority of our job is to make the merchandise look appealing so the customer will want to purchase it, regardless of how unappealing the item might be. I’ve worked with some products that I have considered ugly, but did my best to make the display visually attractive for customers.

    Sometimes when things aren’t working out the way we want them too, it could be because we are over-doing it. I tell people to step back and take a simpler approach. It doesn’t have to be all “bells and whistles” all the time. A clean-cut, basic display is just as good as something very theatrical.

    Get a second opinion – ask a co-worker or sales associate what they like or don’t like about the display. Sometimes that’s enough to inspire you, on what direction you should take, to help make it better.

    • Ushi Sato said, on April 20, 2012 at 9:11 am

      Thank you so much. I asked this because whenever I do my visit on some stores this are all the reasons I always heard.

  4. nknair said, on June 11, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    Reblogged this on VmDeSiGnS and commented:
    very interesting resource and must read


Leave a Reply

