I Do Windows

Group Projects: theme: Holiday

Posted in Class Group Projects, Discuss This Display, Fashion 49 by Arcadia on April 12, 2012

Now that the students have gotten their feet wet and know what to expect, I’ve noticed the displays are getting better and more detailed.

Group 1 – Other Cubes – Halloween

The photos do not do this display justice.  This was one of my favorites of the day.  Group 1 really redeemed themselves after that “ho-hum” window display from last week.  This week they pulled out all the stops!  Everything in those cubes were handmade and  done so well!  I couldn’t stop admiring this display, it was so cute.  I wish the photos really captured that.

Keep up the good work Group 1!

Group 2 – Wall – New Years Eve

This display is nice, but it didn’t “wow” me.  Clever slogan and I like the clock.  I get that it’s a New Year’s theme, but I wish they took it further and went a little over the top.  It looks unfinished to me.

Group 3 – Cubes – Mardi Gras

This group works well together and it shows in their work.  Another nice job!  My only pet peeve is how flat the tissue paper looks.  I want it to stick up out of the bag and not be pressed down against the wall of the cube.  Trim it if that’s the case.  These are the little details we visual people need to look out for.

Group 4 – Window – Folsom Street Fair

The Folsom Street Fair is not your traditional holiday, but it is a day a celebration for this community.  I allowed my students to do a display that was really sexual in nature, and somewhat controversial, as long as they kept it tasteful; which I think they did.  The window turned out great!

Group 5 – Table – New Years Eve

All the elements are there but to me there is something missing that could send this display from nice to WOW!  The table is proving to be quite a challenge for this year’s class.  The bust form with the shoes and champagne glass look great, the dresses look flat, and I don’t think the chandelier on the table was necessary, although, most of my students liked it.  My advice is to display items on tables that are meant for tables, dresses should be hung.  Do retailers do it?  Yes – but it doesn’t make it right or good!

Nice signage.

All in all, I’m happy they continue to do good, neat work!

Group 6 – Shelving – Halloween (Lucid)

It’s all about the details……

Group 6 took our old shelving unit and turned it into an armoire!

One of my students used to work for this brand, and said she could definitely see this display as an endcap for them at a grocery store!

They hand-stenciled the absinthe spoons on the wall paper – now that is attention to detail!

They used those glow sticks that club-goers wear at parties and such, to make the green liquid!

Group 6 always surprises me and makes me wish I had thought of that!

Well students it’s been another great week.  I’m looking forward to what you guys come up with for our next theme: FOOD!

For my non-students who read this blog I love your comments and do share them with the class.  Thank you for taking the time to read this blog and share your insight.

 

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Benjamin Rorie said, on April 13, 2012 at 7:22 am

    I like the use of the glow sticks on the Lucid display.Very creative!


Leave a Reply

