I Do Windows

Frederick’s Hollywood goes to the Middle East

Posted in Discuss This Display by Arcadia on July 14, 2011

I just read in the VMSD newsletter that Frederick’s of Hollywood will be opening up 10 stores in the Middle East!  Really???  If you are not familiar with this retailer, they predominately sell lingerie.  I’m not a fan of this store’s aesthetic or taste in ladies’ unmentionables, and this is not to criticize those who like this “look”.

I have never been to the Middle East, yet for all of their openness to our western ways (at least in some countries) they are still quite conservative.  Did you see Sex and The City II?  There was some truth to the “keep yourself covered up”.  And since they are so conservative I tend to think they would like things classier, not so trashy (ok I am criticizing F0fH!)

I know women there need and wear underwear and probably like the sexy, naughty things like the rest of us, but I think of Agent Provacateur, not the trashtastic FofH!  How did they even swing this deal?!?  10 stores no less!  Who’s going to shop here?  Tourists, or is pole-dancing big business in the middle east?  I didn’t even realize they were capable of expanding their business as a brick and mortar retailer and not strictly catalog, and I mean the antiquated paper catalog!

I am real curious to see what the displays will look like, I doubt we’ll see looks like the one to the left!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. CC said, on January 4, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    Different definition of “modesty.” Western cultures think of it as being “shy” in every context. In the Middle Eastern cultures, there are social/cultural/religious proscriptions against showing off your “assets” to potential suitors – but it doesn’t extend to immediate family (in this case, husbands). I’m not sure if it extends to store manequins. But if it does, maybe the displays are still pretty provocative… just not co-ed?

  2. NA said, on March 25, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    I am Saudi i think you’re going a bit too far with describing our conservativeness.
    Also, keep in mind that Sex and The City II did a very racist stereotype of our culture and it is no where near truth.
    You know that the Middle East isn’t ALL MEN? and the the women there eventually need panties, bras, lingerie..et al.
    I found your post very offensive.


Leave a Reply

