I Do Windows

Million Dollar Decorators

Posted in Learn from the Pros by Arcadia on July 5, 2011

Lately I’ve been hibernating as I have a small mountain of books to get through this summer.  Some are school-related as I am acquiring my Masters in Green Building, and some are work-related as publishers have sent me advance copies of various visual merchandising textbooks.  I don’t require textbooks for my class, but I do teach from them and encourage my students to purchase the good ones for their own personal library.

Currently I’m reading Martin Pegler’s 6th Edition of Visual Merchandising & Display.  So far I like it, in fact he reached out to me a couple of months ago and I promised to get back to him to interview him for this site!!!!

But, I’m digressing…..in addition to my book addiction I’m also addicted to Million Dollar Decorators on BRAVO TV (in the USA).  Anyone else?  Don’t be ashamed to admit it :)!  These decorators/characters are campy, – as a contractor I find myself asking would I ever work for any of them?

Nonetheless, I am often referring to interior designers for inspiration and lessons in design because that’s what we as visual merchandisers do too, but on a much smaller scale and faster timeline!  I like to compare us to soap opera actors.

Soap opera actors have to learn lots of dialogue in a relatively short amount of time , rehearse, dress, perform – then do it all over again differently the following week.  Well it’s the same for us in the design world.  We have a short amount of time to build a vignette only to have to tear it down in a few weeks to do it all over again.

We could very easily do the job of an interior decorator if we had that amount of time and that large of a budget, but I don’t know too many that could do ours!  I have a designer friend who is seething at the moment as he read this!!  Do designers have the skills for our job, of course  – what frazzles most of the ones I’ve worked with is pressure and tight deadlines, as evidenced by my new favorite show!  Plus, we move our own props which we most likely hand-made ourselves!

This is not to bash designers –  I love them, even though I don’t always like working with them; they often have killer ideas, will always push the client to get more money, and will keep you entertained for hours when they get haughty with the customer – don’t believe me, then tune in.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. PJ said, on July 5, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    This show gives a bad name to Interior Designers & Creative people. We are not all mean, bitchy & disrespectful to our clients and colleagues.

  2. Arcadia said, on July 6, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I agree PJ! Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Michelle said, on July 13, 2011 at 11:16 am

    I am a merchandiser for a small store that has a sister store/gallery. The merchandiser at the gallery and I get called decorators all the time. It drives us nuts but we have a good laugh about it.


Leave a Reply

