I Do Windows

Polyvore – The virtual moodboard

Posted in Inspiration by Arcadia on June 5, 2011

The beginning of each semester I like to give my students a survey to fill out.  This gives me a chance to ascertain what they hope to get out of the class, as well as explain some of my goals.  I also try to make it an open discussion, so students can begin to share their experiences and ideas around visual merchandising.

As we were discussing ideas for inspiration, the website Polyvore came up.  One student raised their hand and asked what was it?  I in-turn then asked, who else had not heard of Polyvore?  I was kind of shocked to find out about half the class (I had 45 students) had NOT heard of this fun and useful site!

In a nutshell I would explain Polyvore as an online site where you can create your own moodboard virtually.  You cut and paste images you find from the web and create your “sets” as they call them.  You’re only limited by your own creativity.  Here are some sets I liked:

peace&loveee♥

peace&loveee♥ by briellebr0♥ ⚓ ☀ featuring flower jewelry

Olivia Palermo

Olivia Palermo by virna! (B-day june10) featuring silk tops

I rock red

I rock red by ♥Lente♥ featuring string bracelets

I suggest logging on and playing round, but be warned – it can be addicting!

Leave a Reply

