I Do Windows

Visual Merchandising Student’s “holiday” Theme Displays

Posted in Class Group Projects, Discuss This Display by Arcadia on April 18, 2011

Here are the photos I meant to post last week on the in-class group projects.  Considering what limited resources we have to work with, I’m very impressed with what my students come up with every week.  The theme for this week was “holiday”.  Students were allowed to choose any holiday they wish and interpret it into a display.

The only rules are:

  1. I must be able to identify the theme immediately from looking at the display
  2. I must be able to identify what product/merchandise they are promoting

So how do you think they did?

Group 1

They are displaying books in a children’s store.

Two future visual merchandisers, very happy with their work!

Group 2

Last week we weren’t able to see anything from group 2 as the cubes were temporarily M.I.A., so this is their first showing.  Obviously they chose Easter too, and they are displaying towels.  The bunny artwork is adorable!  I would have like to see more towels displayed on the table.

Group 3 –  This group had the clever idea of doing a story line for Valentine’s Day.  I will admit when I first saw it, I thought their theme was weddings.

The Courtship – There are transparencies in each cube with a love poem on it that pertains to the occasion.


The Engagement

Happily Ever After!

Group 4

This group choose Christmas in April!

Group 5

This group’s holiday is 4th of July and cute H&M sandals.

I love how they displayed the shoes and made all their risers in class!

Good job group 5!

So how do you think they did?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dkzody said, on April 18, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    I like the Christmas display. The center cube of the Valentine’s display is very good. Wish they would have used red throughout.

    Do the students have to supply their own materials?

  2. Arcadia said, on April 18, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Yes, the students supply most of the materials and all of the merchandise. We have a few art/craft supplies, but they source most of it on their own.


Leave a Reply

