I Do Windows

Juicy Couture’s bad window displays

Posted in Mall Field Trip Assignment, Retail News by Arcadia on March 10, 2011

Recently the class took a “field trip” to the Westfield Mall – San Francisco Centre, which is located right behind the campus.  They had a number of questions to answers regarding retailers and their displays.  As I’m sitting here correcting this assignment, I’m noticing a trend I’ve seen before.  This trend is so incessant with my students every semester, that I actually  feel compelled to write about it, in hopes that the retailer will get a clue and do something!

Juicy Couture has bad, dirty windows! When I say windows, of course I mean their displays.

Whenever I pose the question to my students to go out and find the retailer with the least inspiring, or least effective windows, no doubt, I will get a handful of responses that all mention Juicy Couture!!!

Some of the responses I get are:  “ill-planned”, “no wow factor”, “they looked dirty”, “not eye-catching”, “they need to put some thought into their displays”.  These are typically the usual responses I get for fast-fashion retailer, Forever 21, not what I would expect from the high-end, Juicy Couture brand.

As much as it pains me to admit this, I have to agree with my students.  Whenever I walk by the Juicy windows here at the SF Centre I do think, “Gosh they look dirty”.  Since they are storefront windows on the street and not “in the mall”, I don’t know if this is the responsibility of the retailer or the mall management.

I will also give Juicy the benefit of the doubt and assume maybe these ugly windows are just a San Francisco problem and not an issue with their other stores.  Let’s hope!

I know Juicy is capable of some really over-stylized, über glamorous windows.  It’s what the company was founded on; so don’t get me wrong, I still adore the brand, but Juicy has lost a little of its cache since Pamela and Gela sold it to Liz Claiborne.  I do see on their website they are looking for a Visual Manager (look under Store Design), perhaps this explains everything!  Hey Juicy give me a call if you need help, I can’t work full-time as I already run my own firm, but I would love to help you make those windows more fun – which is what Juicy is supposed to be about!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. christine said, on March 10, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    That is so funny, because I think their windows in NYC, specifically from their 5th Avenue store, are always so exciting! That being said, I think their other stores in the city are “eh”, so I would not be shocked to hear that they don’t focus on strong window displays in every store.

    I have some photos from past Juicy windows from their NYC 5th avenue store below if you are interested!

    January 2009: http://www.flickr.com/photos/93872777@N00/4241335487/in/set-72157622588873691/

    November 2010: http://www.flickr.com/photos/93872777@N00/5216462898/in/set-72157622588873691/

    Thanks for the interesting post!


Leave a Reply

