I Do Windows

A question from one of my students

Posted in Fashion 49 by Arcadia on August 18, 2010

Question:

So I was offered a weeks internship for this store at the mall and still didn’t manage to land the job after my last interview (job interview #4 at this point). I don’t know what to do now! I definitely have the passion and the “eye” for merchandising … but every manager I have interviewed with thus far, has told me to get experience and come back. Where do I get the experience if everyone is looking to hire individuals who already have years of experience? Where would be a good place to find other internships (not limited to fashion)? At this point I’m willing to take a non-paying internship as long as it will serve as a stepping stone to get to where i want to be.   Any advice?

Answer:

It’s so great to hear from you!

Are still working full-time/part-time at [student works at a large department store]?  If not, I would strongly suggest getting a retail job with a smaller chain store.  That’s how I  got my experience before I moved to Macy’s.  The smaller stores typically use their sales associates as the visual team, and in my experience very few wanted the responsibility which is how I ended up doing all the displays.

Another way to get your foot in the door is to wait for the Xmas hiring season (usually around October) when Display Departments higher extra help to decorate the store.  You don’t need a whole lot of experience to be a Xmas trimmer.

I would also look into working in other retail environments besides fashion.  Floral shops, party/event planners, interior designers, and book stores are excellent ways to create a book of displays and show that you are creative.

If I hear of anything I will keep you in mind.

Good luck,
Arcadia

Leave a Reply

